Enormous Shanghai, on China’s central coast, is the country’s biggest city and a global financial hub. Its heart is the Bund, a famed waterfront promenade lined with colonial-era buildings. Across the Huangpu River rises Pudong’s futuristic skyline, including 632m Shanghai Tower and the Oriental Pearl TV Tower, with distinctive pink spheres. Sprawling Yuyuan Garden has traditional pavilions, towers and ponds.

General Information

  • Area
    7,037 km²
  • Population
    Over 20 million
  • Language
    The official language in China is Mandarin but distinct dialects are spoken throughout the country. Shanghainese speak Mandarin or Shanghaihua, however most tourist hotels have staff who are fluent in foreign languages.
  • Currency
    Chinese currency is called Renminbi (literally people’s currency), often abbreviated as RMB.
  • Voltage
    Electricity is supplied at 220 volts, 50 cycles.
  • Telecom
    The country code of China is 86 and the city code of Shanghai is 021.
Ambulance 120
Consumer Council 12315
Fire Services 119
Police 110
Local and Overseas IDD Enquiries 114
Tourism Council 6439 3615
Pudong Airport Flight Information 9608 1388 / 3848 4500
Hongqiao Airport Flight Information 6268 3659 / 6268 8918
Take Monday in Shanghai as an example:

Shanghai 8:00 (0) (Monday)
New York 19:00 (-13) (Sunday)
London (Paris) 0:00 (-8) (Monday)
Tokyo 9:00 (+1) (Monday)
Sydney 10:00 (+2) (Monday)
With a pleasant northern subtropical maritime monsoon climate, Shanghai enjoys four distinct seasons, generous sunshine and abundant rainfall. Its spring and autumn are relatively short compared with summer and winter. The average annual temperature is 18 degrees Celsius. The city has a frost-free period lasting up to 230 days a year. The average annual rainfall is 1,200 millimetres (about 50 inches). However, nearly 60% of the precipitation comes during the May-September flood season, which is divided into three rainy periods, the Spring Rains, the Plum Rains and the Autumn Rains.

The highest temperature is in July and August. For ten days or so in these two months, the temperature can reach 35 degrees centigrade. The coldest period is from the end of January to early February – usually during the Chinese Spring Festival. This awfully cold period will last for about three days but it seldom snows. From March to May, the conditions are pleasant so this is the best season for traveling. The ‘Plum Rain Season’ is from mid-June to early July. From late August to the first twenty days of September, the city is also susceptible to typhoons, none of which in recent years has caused considerable damage. Generally you will need a light coat and sweater in spring and short- sleeved shirts in summer. In autumn, long-sleeved shirts, sweater and coat are necessary, while sweater and overcoat are appropriate in winter.